Consultations in East Sussex

Find and participate in consultations in East Sussex. Your responses will help us make decisions on planning, delivering and evaluating services.  

Recent consultations are listed below or you can search by keyword, postcode, or subject.

Open Consultations

  • Hastings Parking Review 2020-21 - formal consultation

    We receive many requests for new or changes to existing parking, waiting and stopping restrictions in Hastings Borough. To manage these and make effective use of our budgets we have a priority ranking system. All requests are considered and locations given the highest priority are progressed as... More

    Closes 29 October 2021

  • Aspiring Leaders Course 29th September 2021

    In order to ensure preperation and planning for future sessions we are asking delegates to submit an evaluation for the Aspiring Leaders Course that took place on the 29th September 2021. More

    Closes 29 October 2021

  • Supervising social worker digital survey

    As part of our Digital in Care project which is seeking to improve the digital resilience of children and young people in care we are reviewing training and resources available to our social workers and practitioners. We want you to feel confident in your ability to help young people both benefit... More

    Closes 31 October 2021

  • Social worker/PA/Placement Support Worker/Key Worker digital survey

    As part of our Digital in Care project which is seeking to improve the digital resilience of children and young people in care we are reviewing training and resources available to our social workers, PAs, Placement Support workers and other practitioners. We want you to feel confident in your... More

    Closes 31 October 2021

  • Buzz Active customer satisfaction questionnaire

    At Buzz Active we pride ourselves on quality of service and customer experience. We would like for you to tke a few minutes to tell us what you think of our services. More

    Closes 31 October 2021

Closed Consultations

  • Bexhill Road, Ninfield - Extension of the 30mph Speed Limit

    As part of the development of the land at Ingrams Farm, Bexhill Road, Ninfield there is a need to consult on Traffic Regulation Order to extend the existing 30mph speed limit for a distance of 250m southwards of its current location. There will also be new road markings and an existing... More

    Closed 22 October 2021

  • Registration Service Staff Survey October 2021

    Staff Survey More

    Closed 22 October 2021

  • Our proposal for the East Sussex Health Promotion Resources Service

    We want to hear from people working in health promotion about our proposal to stop offering hard copy resources through the East Sussex Health Promotion Resource Service . The consultation is open to people who are currently registered to use the service and those who are not. The... More

    Closed 17 October 2021

  • HAF summer - parents and carers feedback questionnaire

    Government funded Holiday Activity and Food (HAF) We want to make sure the Holiday Food and Fun programme offers enriching activities and is fun. You can tell us how well we are doing. We will use your answers to make our holiday activities programme even better. ... More

    Closed 9 October 2021

  • HAF summer - Young person's (12 years and under) feedback

    Government funded Holiday Activity and Food (HAF) We want to make sure the Holiday Food and Fun programme has good activities and is fun. You can tell us how well we are doing. We will use your answers to make our holiday activities programme even better. ... More

    Closed 9 October 2021

We Asked, You Said, We Did

Here are some of the issues we have consulted on and their outcomes. See all outcomes

We asked

Over the summer we consulted on our plans for sexual health services in East Sussex ready for the new contract in October 2022.

The aim was to make sure that the proposed service model would provide easy access to services that meet people’s needs. It was important to hear people’s views as the service model has changed significantly in the last few years due to digital innovation and COVID-19.

You said

People were concerned that some groups of people may find it more difficult to access the service. 

We did

In response to the consultation feedback, the service specification has been adapted to allow two drop-in triage clinics for all ages at each clinic site in Hastings and in Eastbourne. This is in recognition of people who are digitally excluded, do not have phones, or rely on limited phone credit or are genuinely unable to access their GP.

We asked

East Sussex County Council’s SEND team commissioned a Joint Strategic Needs Assessment (JSNA) of the local area to find out what was going well for children, young people and their families and what could be improved. The outcome of the review will help the team, working with partners, to develop a strategy for 2022-24 which puts in place improvements and build on the successes.

You said

We did

After reviewing the current position across education, health and social care provision and services, the JSNA made recommendations for improvements including prioritising prevention, early identification and intervention; improving processes and capacity of services with the longest waiting time for assessment and treatment; and improving access to, and increasing provision for mental health support. The report also highlighted areas where the ISEND service can build on successes including the continuing efforts to ensure the involvement of children, young people and their families in the development of provision and SEND training in schools.

As well as informing the SEND strategy, the outcome of the JSNA will help East Sussex County Council and partners set joint commissioning priorities, ensuring the appropriate support is in place for children and young people across East Sussex.

We asked

The consultation asked stakeholders and the public for feedback on the proposal to replace the existing bridge at Exceat with a new two-lane, two-way bridge which will ensure the free flow of traffic and include safer crossing points for pedestrians, whilst taking into consideration the landscape and environmental sensitivities of the area.

You said

Thank you to all those who took the time to respond to the consultation, we received over 1000 responses. Overall feedback was in support of the project with 79% in favour of replacing the current bridge and 83% supporting the proposal of creating 2 way traffic flow on the bridge. A straight parapet was the preferred design option, whilst opinion towards the viewing platforms was split.

We did

The response to this consultation is being used to inform ongoing discussions with the South Downs National Park Authority to take forward and agree the bridge proposals. We received a lot of feedback on the use of traffic lights at the bridge and this option is being considered as an interim measure.

A number of concerns or alternative suggestions were made in response to the Public Consultation.  These have been reviewed and categorised into themes and responses to each of these are provided in the table below.

 

Theme No.

Theme Issue

Response

 

1

Retain existing bridge

 

In the short term whilst funding for the new bridge is being secured, the existing bridge will be retained and this may involve some repair works to the structure.


However the ongoing maintenance liability over a longer period with no improved arrangement for pedestrians or vehicles is not desired.

Retaining the existing bridge will not offer the benefits to non-motorised users that the replacement bridge would provide, such as a footway on the south side of the bridge avoiding crossing the carriageway twice.

Significant maintenance works would be required to keep the existing bridge in operation for the long term.  A long road closure, likely lasting months, would be necessary to carry out these works safely and this is not considered viable.

 

 

2

Install traffic lights and keep one-way operation

Traffic lights are being considered as an interim measure whilst funding for replacing the bridge is secured.

Whilst it is recognised that the recent provision of traffic lights did ease traffic congestion, they would not provide the long term resilience that a two-way bridge would offer. 

Funding for the replacement bridge is dependent on the proposals providing long term congestion relief.

Installing traffic lights alone would not provide the benefits to non-motorised users that the replacement bridge would provide, such as a footway on the south side avoiding crossing the carriageway twice.

 

3

Against the scheme based on the assumption that traffic will increase.  Concerned about the potential negative effects on local lanes and communities, i.e. Littlington and Alfriston

 

Traffic will increase nationwide over the next ten years irrespective of any improvements which are made at Exceat.

Any increase in traffic along the A259 and the connecting roads as a result of the improvements will be cancelled out by the A27 improvements which Highways England are currently progressing. 

 

 

4

Concern that air pollution will increase

Air pollution is not expected to increase given there will be less queuing traffic. A study is being commissioned to assess this.

 

 

5

Concern over not providing pedestrian islands

Significant consideration has been put towards the provision of pedestrian crossings.   The reasons for not providing new pedestrian refuge islands is as follows:

A recent survey identified a large number of bicycles and buggies being used around the pub and bridge. It would be unsafe for these users to use standard width refuge islands meaning that extra wide islands would be required.


Further carriageway widening required to accommodate wide pedestrian islands would either significantly affect a residential property or prevent the existing bridge remaining open during the works.

 

Furthermore, widening the carriageway would also further encroach the hill on the western side of the carriageway and would result in a taller and longer retaining wall – which would alter the fragile landscape.

Road safety engineers have confirmed that it would be safer for pedestrians to wait slightly longer on the side of the road, than become stranded in the middle of the road with passing traffic either side.

Analysis of pedestrian wait times will be made available as part of the planning application, however traffic modelling confirms that the increase in wait times is marginal.

 

 

6

Not providing a pelican crossing

Protecting the rural landscape is a key consideration. The provision of a pelican, or any controlled crossing, would spoil the natural landscape, in particular at night.  Detailed assessments confirm that the uncontrolled crossing points, which will have significantly better visibility than the current provision will be safe and suitable for all pedestrians.

 

 

7

The eastbound bus stop being moved further away from the pub

The eastbound bus stop (west of the bridge) has been moved further up the hill towards Seaford. Given the frequent service and regular usage of the bus stop, the highway layout needs to allow for vehicles to safely pass a stationary bus. The positioning of the bus stop has been done to improve visibility for both drivers of vehicles as they approach the bridge and pedestrians using the pedestrian crossing immediately to the west of the bridge. Visibility for all road users is significantly better than the current provision. 

 

 

8

No proposals for improvements outside the Visitors Centre

This project is limited to replacing the bridge over the river Cuckmere and providing improved pedestrian facilities in the immediate vicinity. Improved pedestrian crossing facilities outside the Visitors Centre is not included in this project however the South Downs National Park and East Sussex County Council have agreed to support each other in exploring options as part of a separate scheme.

 

 

9

No proposals to upgrade the footpath along causeway (stretch of road between the bridge and the Visitors Centre)

 

The footway along the Causeway is not affected by the new bridge and therefore works to improve it are not included in this project. Improvements to the footway may be considered at a later date.

 

10

Perceived lack of facilities for walkers, cyclists, horse riders & bus travellers

The scheme provides a reduction in the number of occasions pedestrians will need to cross the A259 as the footway on the southern side of the bridge will connect to the existing footways either side of the river.

The footpath on the southern side of the bridge will be a shared facility to accommodate both pedestrians and cyclists  which opens up a future opportunity to provide a more continuous shared facility across the Cuckmere valley.

Cycle stands near to the pub will also be considered.

The bus stops are being improved through better signposting and higher kerbs.

No equestrians were recorded in a recent survey monitoring behaviour and usage at the bridge. The lack of off-carriageway equestrian routes means that it is unlikely equestrians will use the bridge or footways. 

 

 

11

Reducing the speed limit to 20mph or 30mph

Reducing the speed limit from the national speed limit of 60mph to 30mph is included in the proposals.

Reducing the speed limit further to 20mph is not suitable for the road classification being part of the major road network.

 

 

12

Use of Manual for Streets (design guide) for a more balanced design favouring non-motorised users

 

Manual for Streets is being applied to the highway design.

 

13

Redesignation of road status to B Road

 

Redesignation of the A259 which is part of the major road network would not be appropriate and is does not form part of the project.

 

 

14

Parking may occur in shared space outside pub

 

Parking restrictions on the shared space outside the pub will be considered.

 

15

There is a perceived negative impact on biodiversity

An Environmental Statement and an Ecosystems Services assessment will form part of this planning application.

The ongoing design aims to avoid impacts as far as practicable.

Where impacts are unavoidable, the mitigation strategy will be in line with National Planning Policy Framework and Environmental regulations.